The company

Tailor-made service, Hanseatic commitment and profound knowledge of the industry – that’s what sets us apart! As a customer, you benefit from our decades of experience, our know-how and our claim to always make the individually optimal forwarding offer.

Here you get everything from a single source: From the first contact, you always talk to your personal contact person. He knows you, your company and your logistics needs inside out. Our qualified staff will be happy to advise you on the various transport solutions for global trade.

Our core competence is international sea transport. For cases in which things have to be done quickly, we are also happy to provide you with competent support in all matters relating to air freight. In order to get goods from the hinterland to ports and airports, we also offer solutions for general cargo, truck transport and multimodal transport. And if you want to outsource the complex customs procedures for your imports and exports, you can benefit from our customs-specific services.

Peter Harms Schiffahrts- u. Speditionsgesellschaft mbH was founded by the name giver in 1982. Since then we have grown steadily. We now have two locations, Bremen and Hamburg, and employ over twenty people. We are proud that many of our long-standing employees have already completed their training in our company!

We involve the trainees in all relevant work processes as early as possible. We train new employees thoroughly and comprehensively. In this way, we can ensure that our entire specialist staff has the highest level of competence and know-how. It is particularly important to us that all employees feel responsible for their respective work area and think outside the box.

We want to do more than a normal seaport forwarder. That is why our employees travel to the countries we serve. They also know their way around the major trade routes of the world. So they can give you all the information you need to run your trading smoothly.

Today, we are a medium-sized company with tradition and a future. Fast processes and smooth operations: We succeed in this, among other things, thanks to flat decision-making hierarchies. But good is never good enough for us – we work consistently on the further development and constant optimization of our workflows.

We keep asking ourselves what we can do even better. We would like to hear from you what you expect from us! Contact us without obligation and see our expertise and commitment for yourself.

Business areas

Sea freight

As a large shipping and forwarding company, we have a high transport volume. This enables us to pass on excellent freight rates to our customers.

Air freight

When things have to be done quickly, air freight is often the method of choice. We work with reliable customs and IATA agencies around the world. In this way, we ensure that your goods are transported quickly and on time.

General cargo / truck transport / multimodal transport​

It is often useful or even essential to combine different transport routes. Especially when containers have to be fetched from the hinterland …

Customs

Trade is becoming more and more global; international links play an important role in business. At the same time, however, the customs procedures required for imports and exports are complex. They require time and extensive knowledge. You are welcome to draw on our experience and know-how in the field of customs.

Transport of dangerous goods

Whether explosives, ammunition and fireworks, gases and gas mixtures or flammable and self-igniting substances and mixtures: Transporting dangerous goods requires extensive special knowledge! This starts with the acceptance of the goods, concerns the actual transport of the goods, load securing…

Further services

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a waiver?

As a private or business passenger, you are familiar with the green and white adhesive labels on your checked baggage. Your suitcase cannot be transported without this adhesive label, as it fulfills various tasks. For example, it shows where the piece of luggage was checked in and where it is to be transported. It also proves that compliance with regulations has been checked.

The waiver in shipping serves very similar purposes: it provides information about the type and value of the goods being transported, the sender, the transporting company, the transport route, the name of the transporting ship and the type of shipment (container or directly on the ship).

Own waiver for each country

A waiver is basically a way to increase efficiency and better control. For trading companies, however, waivers often pose a challenge, because “waiver” is basically a collective term for various country-specific certificates. This includes, for example, ECTN, BESC, BSC and CTN certificates. These different electronic cargo certificates all serve the same purpose: to be able to monitor and track shipments on their way and to better monitor imports.

Many African countries in particular require trading companies to provide details of their import shipments before the cargo can reach its destination. Almost every country on the African continent has its own waiver regulations and gives its country-specific waiver its own name. Familiarizing yourself with this subject is tedious and time-consuming. Without the right waiver, however, the goods will not reach their destination. That is why international traders who use ship transport cannot avoid the topic.

Don’t be afraid of the certificate jungle – we’ll guide you through it!

We at Peter Harms Schiffahrts- u Speditionsgesellschaft mbH know exactly which certificate you need for which country. We would be happy to support you in obtaining all the necessary papers in good time so that your export business runs smoothly. So you can be sure that your goods will reach their destination as quickly as possible.

What is AEO certification?

You are probably familiar with this phenomenon: If you know someone and you can rely on them with a clear conscience because everything has been handled reliably and on time and even people you trust have never reported anything else, then you are more likely to confide in this person than someone from theirs Integrity you have not yet been able to convince yourself to the same extent.

The AEO certification is the institutionalization of this principle. AEO stands for “Authorised Economic Operator” and means something like “authorized economic partner”. The certificate states that a company has acted in a particularly trustworthy and reliable manner in international trade in the past. It is awarded to companies based in the European Union.

The possibility of AEO certification in international trade has existed since 2008. AEO was introduced by the World Customs Authority under the SAFE conditions. “Safe” is not only the English word for “safe”, but also stands for the “Framework of Standards to Secure and Facilitate Global Trade” in international trade. These are international guidelines that ensure a framework for safe global trade. In a globalized world, SAFE creates the basis for modern and efficient world trade with low risks. In the customs administrations and forwarding companies, SAFE processes are simplified and accelerated.

Peter Harms is AEO certified

Peter Harms Schiffahrts- und Speditionsgesellschaft mbH has AEO certification as an “authorised economic operator” (as the customs authorities use it). This means that we are entitled to concessions and simplifications in customs matters, from which you as our customer can benefit.

Thanks to our AEO certification, we transport goods particularly safely and quickly internationally. The continuous supply chains are maintained and your goods reach the customer without delays.

If you too would like to benefit from our good reputation, our many years of experience in international trade, our know-how, our commitment and last but not least our AEO certification, please do not hesitate to contact us.

What size and type of container do I need?

The most common container size in shipping is the TEU. This abbreviation stands for “Twenty Foot Equivalent Unit”. The name refers to the external dimensions of the container: A TEU is 20 feet long.

The twenty-foot container is the standard for sea transport. TEU is often used as a unit to indicate loading capacity or handling values in ports. For example, a ship with a capacity of 1,000 TEU can accommodate 1,000 standard containers.

A TEU is a miracle of space: it can accommodate eleven Euro pallets or nine industrial pallets, 80 oil drums, each with a capacity of 275 liters or 36,904 beverage cans (not counting pallets).

The ideal container size for every shipment

For goods that do not fit in a TEU, there is a larger variant. A FEU container is twice as long as a TEU and just as wide and high as a TEU. FEU means “Fourty Foot Equivalent Unit”.

There is also a whole range of special sizes. Containers with different height dimensions are possible, for example – dimensions that can be transported on the road without restrictions are common here. For voluminous transport goods and in general on the American market, 45-foot containers are also becoming established. In Australia in particular, there is an increasing number of 48-foot containers.

Special requirements for the type of container

Refrigerated containers, also known as thermal containers or reefers, basically have the same external dimensions as “normal” shipping containers. The difference is on the inside: the volume is reduced due to the internal insulation and, if necessary, the cooling unit. There are two variants: refrigerated containers, which are refrigerated by the ship’s system, and refrigerated containers, which have their own integrated refrigeration unit.

Depending on the freight to be transported, there are other configurations and body types. Platform containers, for example, only consist of the floor construction and have no side walls. Dangerous goods such as oil, petrol or gas require an explosion-proof installation and a special interior design that prevents the load from rocking. There are containers with hinged sides, containers with doors at both ends, special containers for bulk goods and many more.

The ideal type of container does not only depend on the size of the freight, but also on the weight. It must be ensured that the carrying capacity of the container is not exceeded. A TEU, for example, has a maximum payload of 28,230 kg.

Different standard sizes are used for air freight transport than for transport by ship, since the containers used here are optimized for the hold of the aircraft.

If you are not sure which container type and size is best for your merchandise, our staff will be happy to advise you on the best choice.

What is SOLAS?

SOLAS stands for “International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea”. This is a UN convention on safety at sea, specifically “for the protection of human life at sea”, as the German version of the convention puts it.

The first version of SOLAS was created after the sinking of the Titanic in 1912. The basis for the international initiative was the realization that better safety precautions would have saved many people at the time. That is why an international conference created minimum standards for safety on ships that are intended to protect life.

The fifth version of SOLAS is now in force. It was adopted in 1974 and has since been amended and expanded by numerous supplementary protocols. This means that technical innovations are taken into account and knowledge gained from shipwrecks is included.

Major shipwrecks are often the reason for changes to SOLAS. Most recently, in January 2020, a supplementary protocol came into force that drew lessons from the Costa Concordia accident in 2012.

What is regulated by SOLAS?

SOLAS is a comprehensive agreement divided into 14 chapters. It deals with topics such as requirements for the safe construction of ships, fire protection on ships, life-saving devices, safe stowage of cargo, handling dangerous goods, regulations for improving maritime safety and many more.

Some passages apply to all boats and ships without exception, others are very specific, for example the regulations for nuclear ships.

What role does SOLAS play for us?

Of course, Peter Harms Schiffahrts- und Speditionsgesellschaft mbH fulfills all the requirements of the SOLAS Convention. It is important to us to be part of safe shipping in our work.

Demurrage and detention: meaning and differences

The terms demurrage and detention are technical terms from the export trade. Both cases are fees to be paid when there are delays in sea freight shipments. A distinction is made between delays in collection at the port on the one hand and delays in on-carriage on the other.

Detention refers to the fees for container rental that shipowners charge their customers after the container has left the terminal – if the free time has passed. If a container is unloaded from a ship, it must be back in the shipping company’s inventory within a specified period of time. The on-carriage time depends, among other things, on where container depots are located in the receiving country and what the infrastructure is like there.

If containers are still at the terminal after the free time has expired, a storage fee (also called “demurrage”) will be charged. This is demurrage. The container was therefore unloaded from a ship, but not picked up within the permitted period. These deadlines vary depending on the receiving country. Usually they are about three to five days. Thereafter, demurrage is due per container and day. Demurrage will also be charged if a container is delivered too early for export clearance.

What causes the surcharges?

Delays in the freight business are annoying for everyone involved, but cannot always be avoided, even with the best planning. For example, customs clearance in the receiving country can result in longer waiting times, even though all the formalities have been optimally prepared. The additional costs resulting from delays can therefore not be planned in advance.

The customs regulations vary from country to country as much as the free lay times in the ports vary. As an experienced sea freight forwarder, we know what is important to avoid detention and demurrage. Our employees travel extensively to the countries we serve so that we can know and assess the local conditions and the respective infrastructure.

Contact

Am Dobben 18

28203 Bremen

E-mail:

office@peter-harms.com

Phone:

+49 421 33772-0

BREMEN (head office)

Peter Harms Schiffahrts- und Speditionsgesellschaft mbH
Am Dobben 18
28203 Bremen
Phone: +49 421 33772-0
Fax: +49 421 33772-22
office@peter-harms.com

HAMBURG

Peter Harms Schiffahrts- und Speditionsgesellschaft mbH
Kuehnehöfe 20
22761 Hamburg
Phone: +49 40 6077635-0
Fax: +49 40 6077635-59
office@peter-harms.com

Das Unternehmen

Maßgeschneiderter Service, hanseatische Verbindlichkeit und profunde Branchenkenntnisse – das zeichnet uns aus! Als Kunde profitieren Sie von unserer jahrzehntelangen Erfahrung, unserem Know-how und von unserem Anspruch, immer das individuell optimale Speditionsangebot zu machen.

Hier erhalten Sie alles aus einer Hand: Vom ersten Kontakt an sprechen Sie immer mit Ihrem persönlichen Ansprechpartner. Er kennt Sie, Ihr Unternehmen und Ihre Logistikbedürfnisse genau. Unser qualifiziertes Personal berät Sie gerne zu den unterschiedlichen Transportlösungen für den globalen Handel.

Unsere Kernkompetenz sind internationale Seetransporte. Für die Fälle, in denen es schnell gehen muss, unterstützen wir Sie aber gerne auch kompetent in allen Fragen zur Luftfracht. Damit Container aus dem Hinterland zu Häfen und Flughäfen gelangen, bieten wir außerdem Lösungen für Stückgut, Lkw-Transporte und Multimodaltransport. Und wenn Sie die aufwändigen Zollverfahren für Ihre Im- und Exporte auslagern möchten, können Sie von unseren zollspezifischen Dienstleistungen profitieren.

Gegründet wurde die Peter Harms Schiffahrts- u. Speditionsgesellschaft mbH vom Namensgeber im Jahre 1982. Seither sind wir stetig gewachsen. Inzwischen verfügen wir über zwei Standorte, Bremen und Hamburg, und beschäftigen über zwanzig Mitarbeiter. Wir sind stolz darauf, dass viele unserer langjährigen Mitarbeiter einst schon ihre Ausbildung in unserer Firma absolviert haben!

So früh wie möglich beziehen wir die Auszubildende in alle relevanten Arbeitsprozesse ein. Neue Mitarbeiter schulen wir ebenso gründlich wie umfassend. Auf diesem Wege können wir sicherstellen, dass unser gesamtes Fachpersonal über ein Höchstmaß an Kompetenz und Know-how verfügt. Besonders wichtig ist uns, dass alle Mitarbeiter sich für ihren jeweiligen Arbeitsbereich verantwortlich fühlen und über den Tellerrand gucken.

Wir wollen mehr leisten als ein üblicher Seehafenspediteur. Deshalb bereisen unsere Mitarbeiter die von uns bedienten Länder. Sie kennen sich auch abseits der großen Handelsrouten der Welt ausgezeichnet aus. So können sie Ihnen alle Informationen geben, die Sie für einen reibungslosen Ablauf Ihres Handelsgeschäftes benötigen.

Heute sind wir ein mittelständisches Unternehmen mit Tradition und Zukunft. Schnelle Prozesse und reibungslose Abläufe: Das gelingt uns unter anderem dank flacher Entscheidungshierarchien. Gut ist uns aber nie gut genug – wir arbeiten konsequent an der Weiterentwicklung und stetigen Optimierung unserer Workflows.

Immer wieder fragen wir uns, was wir noch besser machen können. Gerne möchten wir von Ihnen erfahren, was Sie von uns erwarten! Nehmen Sie doch unverbindlich Kontakt mit uns auf und überzeugen Sie sich selbst von unserer Expertise und unserem Engagement.

Geschäftsfelder

Seefracht

Als großes Schifffahrts- und Speditionsunternehmen verfügen wir über ein hohes Transportvolumen. Dies macht es uns möglich, an unsere Kunden hervorragende Frachtraten weitergeben zu können.

Luftfracht

Wenn es schnell gehen muss, ist Luftfracht oft das Mittel der Wahl. Wir arbeiten mit zuverlässigen Zoll- und IATA-Agenturen auf der ganzen Welt zusammen. So gewährleisten wir eine zügige und pünktliche Beförderung Ihrer Güter.

Stückgut / LKW Transporte / Multimodaltransport​

Häufig ist es sinnvoll oder sogar unabdingbar, verschiedene Transportwege miteinander zu kombinieren. Besonders wenn Container aus dem Hinterland vorgeholt werden müssen …

Zollwesen

Der Handel wird immer globaler; internationale Verknüpfungen spielen eine wichtige Rolle für das Geschäft. Zugleich sind jedoch die für Im- und Exporte nötigen Zollverfahren komplex. Sie erfordern Zeit und umfassende Kenntnisse. Gerne können Sie auf unsere Erfahrung und unser Know-how im Bereich des Zollwesens zurückgreifen. 

Gefahrguttransporte

Ob Sprengstoffe, Munition und Feuerwerkskörper, Gase und Gasgemische oder entzündbare sowie selbstentzündliche Stoffe und Gemische: Gefahrguttransporte erfordern umfangreiche Spezialkenntnisse! Dies beginnt schon bei der Warenübernahme, betrifft den eigentlichen Transport der Güter, die Ladungssicherung…

weitere Dienstleistungen

Häufige Fragen

Was ist ein Waiver?

Als privat oder geschäftlich reisender Fluggast kennen Sie die grün-weißen Klebeetiketten an Ihren aufgegebenen Gepäckstücken. Ohne dieses Klebeetikett kann Ihr Koffer nicht transportiert werden, denn es erfüllt verschiedene Aufgaben. So zeigt es beispielsweise an, wo das Gepäckstück aufgegeben wurde und wohin es transportiert werden soll. Auch belegt es, dass die Einhaltung von Vorschriften kontrolliert wurde.

Der Waiver im Schifffahrtsverkehr erfüllt ganz ähnliche Zwecke: Er gibt Aufschluss über Art und Wert der Ware, die transportiert wird, über den Absender, über das transportierende Unternehmen, über den Transportweg, über den Namen des transportierenden Schiffes und über die Art des Versands (Container oder direkt auf dem Schiff).

Eigener Waiver für jedes Land

Ein Waiver ist also grundsätzlich ein Weg zur Effizienzsteigerung und zu besserer Kontrolle. Für Handelsunternehmen bedeuten Waiver jedoch häufig eine Herausforderung, denn im Grunde ist „Waiver“ ein Sammelbegriff für verschiedene, länderspezifische Zertifikate. Darunter fallen beispielsweise ECTN-, BESC-, BSC- und CTN-Zertifikate. Diese unterschiedlichen elektronischen Ladungszertifikate erfüllen alle den gleichen Zweck: Sendungen auf ihrem Weg überwachen und tracken zu können sowie Einfuhren besser zu überwachen. 

Vor allem viele afrikanische Länder verlangen von den Handelsfirmen Details über ihre Einfuhrsendungen, bevor die Fracht ihren Zielort erreichen darf. Fast jedes Land auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent hat eigene Waiver-Vorschriften und gibt seinem länderspezifischen Waiver einen eigenen Namen. Sich in diese Materie einzuarbeiten, ist mühsam und zeitaufwändig. Ohne den passenden Waiver wird die Ware jedoch ihren Zielort nicht erreichen. Deshalb kommen internationale Händler, die Schiffstransporte nutzen, nicht an dem Thema vorbei.

Keine Angst vor dem Zertifikatedschungel – wir leiten Sie hindurch!

Wir von der Peter Harms Schiffahrts- u Speditionsgesellschaft mbH wissen bestens darüber Bescheid, welches Zertifikat Sie für welches Land benötigen. Gerne unterstützen wir Sie dabei, alle erforderlichen Papiere rechtzeitig zu erhalten, damit Ihr Exportgeschäft reibungslos abläuft. So können Sie sicher sein, dass Ihre Ware schnellstmöglich ihr Ziel erreicht.

Was ist die AEO-Zertifizierung?

Dieses Phänomen kennen Sie sicher auch: Wenn Sie jemanden kennen und sich guten Gewissens auf ihn verlassen, weil bisher alle Dinge zuverlässig und termingerecht abgewickelt wurden und auch Vertrauenspersonen nie etwas anderes berichtet haben, dann werden Sie dieser Person eher etwas anvertrauen als jemandem, von dessen Integrität Sie sich bisher noch nicht im gleichen Maße überzeugen konnten.

Die AEO-Zertifizierung ist die Institutionalisierung dieses Prinzips. AEO steht für „Authorised Economic Operator“ und bedeutet also etwa „autorisierter Wirtschaftspartner“. Das Zertifikat besagt, dass ein Unternehmen in der Vergangenheit im internationalen Handel besonders vertrauenswürdig und zuverlässig agiert hat. Es wird an Unternehmen vergeben, die in der europäischen Union ansässig sind.

Die Möglichkeit zur AEO-Zertizifierung im internationalen Handel besteht seit dem Jahr 2008. Eingeführt wurde AEO von der Weltzollbehörde im Rahmen der SAFE-Bedingungen. „Safe“ ist nicht nur das englische Wort für „sicher“, sondern steht im internationalen Handel auch für das „Framework of Standards to Secure and Facilitate Global Trade“. Dies sind internationale Richtlinien, die einen Rahmen für sicheren globalen Handel gewährleisten. SAFE schafft in einer globalisierten Welt die Grundlagen für modernen und effizienten Welthandel mit geringen Risiken. In den Zollverwaltungen und Speditionsfirmen werden durch SAFE Vorgänge vereinfacht und beschleunigt.

Peter Harms ist AEO-zertifiziert

Die Peter Harms Schiffahrts- u. Speditionsgesellschaft mbH verfügt als „zugelassener Wirtschaftsbeteiligter“ (so der Sprachgebrauch der Zollbehörden) über die AEO-Zertifizierung. Das bedeutet, dass wir zu Vergünstigungen und Vereinfachungen im Zollgeschehen berechtigt sind, von denen Sie als unser Kunde profitieren können.

Dank unserer AEO-Zertifzierung befördern wir Waren besonders sicher und schnell im internationalen Raum. Die durchgängigen Lieferketten werden aufrechterhalten und Ihre Waren gelangen ohne Verzögerungen zum Kunden.

Wenn auch Sie von unserem guten Ruf, unserer langjährigen Erfahrung im internationalen Handel, unserem Know-how, unserem Engagement und nicht zuletzt unserer AEO-Zertifizierung profitieren möchten, sprechen Sie uns sehr gerne an.

Welche Containergröße und welche Containerart brauche ich?

Die gängigste Containergröße im Schiffsfrachtverkehr ist der TEU. Diese Abkürzung steht für „Twenty Foot Equivalent Unit“. Die Benennung bezieht sich auf die Außenmaße des Containers: Ein TEU ist 20 Fuß lang.

Der Zwanzig-Fuß-Container ist der Standard bei Schiffstransporten. Häufig wird TEU als Einheit verwendet, um Ladekapazitäten oder Umschlagswerte in Häfen anzugeben. Ein Schiff mit der Kapazität 1.000 TEU beispielsweise kann 1.000 Standardcontainer aufnehmen.

Ein TEU ist ein Raumwunder: Er kann elf Euro-Paletten oder neun Industrie-Paletten aufnehmen, 80 Ölfässer zu je 275 Liter Fassungsvermögen oder auch 36.904 Getränkedosen (ohne Paletten gerechnet).

Für jede Sendung die ideale Containergröße

Für Ware, die nicht in einen TEU passt, gibt es eine größere Variante. Ein FEU-Container ist doppelt so lang wie ein TEU und genauso breit und hoch wie ein TEU. FEU bedeutet „Fourty Foot Equivalent Unit“.

Daneben gibt es eine ganze Reihe von Sondergrößen. Möglich sind beispielsweise Container mit anderen Höhenmaßen – üblich sind hier Maße, die ohne Beschränkungen auf der Straße transportiert werden können. Für voluminöse Transportgüter und generell auf dem amerikanischen Markt setzen sich außerdem 45-Fuß-Container durch. Vor allem in Australien gibt es zunehmend 48-Fuß-Container.

Spezialanforderungen an die Containerart

Kühlcontainer, auch Thermal-Container oder Reefer genannt, haben grundsätzlich die gleichen Außenmaße wie „normale“ Schiffscontainer. Der Unterschied zeigt sich im Inneren: Durch die innenliegende Isolierung und gegebenenfalls das Kühlaggregat verringert sich das Volumen. Es gibt zwei Varianten: Kühlcontainer, die über die Anlage des Schiffes gekühlt werden und Kühlcontainer, die über ein eigenes, integriertes Kühlaggregat verfügen.

 

Je nach zu befördernder Fracht gibt es weitere Aus- und Aufbauformen. Plattform-Container beispielsweise bestehen nur aus der Bodenkonstruktion und haben keine Seitenwände. Gefahrgüter wie Öl, Benzin oder Gas erfordern eine explosionsgeschützte Installation und einen speziellen Innenausbau, der das Aufschaukeln der Ladung verhindert. Es gibt Container mit aufklappbaren Seiten, Container mit Türen an beiden Enden, spezielle Container für Schüttgut und viele Varianten mehr.

Die ideale Containerart ist aber nicht nur von der Größe der Fracht abhängig, sondern auch vom Gewicht. Es muss darauf geachtet werden, dass die Tragfähigkeit des Containers nicht überschritten wird. Ein TEU beispielsweise hat eine maximale Zuladung von 28.230 kg. 

 

Für den Luftfrachtverkehr werden andere Normgrößen als im Transport per Schiff verwendet, da die hier verwendeten Container für den Laderaum des Flugzeugs optimiert sind.

Wenn Sie sich nicht sicher sind, welche Containerart und -größe für Ihre Handelsware am besten geeignet ist, beraten Sie unsere Mitarbeiter sehr gerne zur optimalen Wahl.

Was ist SOLAS?

SOLAS steht für „International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea“. Dabei handelt es sich um eine UN-Konvention zur Sicherheit auf See und zwar explizit „zum Schutz des menschlichen Lebens auf See“, wie es in der deutschen Fassung des Übereinkommens heißt.

Die erste Fassung von SOLAS entstand nach dem Untergang der Titanic im Jahr 1912. Grundlage für die internationale Initiative war die Erkenntnis, dass bessere Sicherheitsvorkehrungen damals viele Menschen gerettet hätten. Deshalb schuf eine internationale Konferenz Mindeststandards für die Sicherheit auf Schiffen, die Leben schützen sollen.

Inzwischen ist die fünfte Fassung von SOLAS in Kraft. Sie wurde 1974 verabschiedet und seither durch zahlreiche Ergänzungsprotokolle geändert und erweitert. Damit werden technische Neuerungen berücksichtigt und Erkenntnisse aus Schiffsunglücken einbezogen.

Große Schiffsunglücke sind häufig Anlass für Änderungen an SOLAS. Zuletzt trat im Januar 2020 ein Ergänzungsprotokoll in Kraft, das Lehren aus dem Unfall der Costa Concordia im Jahr 2012 zog.

Was wird per SOLAS geregelt?

SOLAS ist ein umfangreiches Abkommen, das in 14 Kapitel gegliedert ist. Darin geht es um Themen wie Voraussetzungen an die sichere Konstruktion von Schiffen, Brandschutz auf Schiffen, lebensrettende Geräte, sicheres Verstauen von Fracht, Umgang mit Gefahrgütern, Regelungen zur Verbesserung der Seeverkehrssicherheit und viele mehr.

Einige Passagen betreffen ausnahmslos alle Boote und Schiffe, andere sind sehr speziell, zum Beispiel die Vorschriften für Nuklearschiffe.

Welche Rolle spielt SOLAS für uns?

Selbstverständlich erfüllt die Peter Harms Schiffahrts- u. Speditionsgesellschaft mbH sämtliche Voraussetzungen des SOLAS-Übereinkommens. Es ist uns ein wichtiges Anliegen, bei unserer Arbeit Teil einer sicheren Schifffahrt zu sein.

Demurrage und Detention: Bedeutung und Unterschiede

Bei den Begriffen Demurrage und Detention handelt es sich um Fachbegriffe aus dem Exporthandel. In beiden Fällen handelt es sich um Gebühren, die zu entrichten sind, wenn es zu Verzögerungen bei Seefrachttransporten kommt. Es wird unterschieden zwischen Verzögerungen bei der Abholung im Hafen einerseits und Verzögerungen im Nachlauf andererseits.

Als Detention werden diejenigen Gebühren für Containermiete bezeichnet, die Reeder ihren Kunden belasten, nachdem der Container das Terminal verlassen hat – sofern die freie Zeit überschritten ist. Wird ein Container von Bord eines Schiffes gelöscht, so muss er innerhalb eines vorgegebenen Zeitraums zurück im Bestand der Reederei sein. Die Nachlaufdauer hängt unter anderem davon ab, wo im Empfangsland Containerdepots liegen und wie die Infrastruktur dort ist.

Wenn Container noch am Terminal stehen, nachdem die freie Zeit abgelaufen ist, wird Lagergeld (auch „Liegegeld“ genannt) berechnet. Dies ist die Demurrage. Der Container wurde also von Bord eines Schiffes gelöscht, jedoch nicht innerhalb der erlaubten Frist abgeholt. Diese Fristen sind je nach Empfangsland verschieden. Üblicherweise liegen sie bei etwa drei bis fünf Tagen. Danach wird pro Container und Tag die Demurrage fällig. Demurrage wird auch dann berechnet, wenn ein Container zu früh bei der Exportabfertigung angeliefert wird.

Wodurch entstehen die Aufschläge?

Verzögerungen im Frachtgeschäft sind für alle Beteiligten ärgerlich, aber auch bei bester Planung nicht immer zu vermeiden. So kann es beispielsweise bei der Verzollung im Empfangsland zu längeren Liegezeiten kommen, obwohl alle Formalien optimal vorbereitet worden sind. Die durch Verzögerungen entstehenden zusätzlichen Kosten sind daher auch nicht vorab planbar.

So verschieden die freien Liegezeiten in den Häfen sind, so unterschiedlich gestalten sich die Zollvorschriften von Land zu Land. Als erfahrener Seefrachtspediteur wissen wir, worauf es ankommt, um Detention und Demurrage zu vermeiden. Damit wir die örtlichen Gegebenheiten und die jeweilige Infrastruktur kennen und einschätzen können, bereisen unsere Mitarbeiter die von uns bedienten Länder intensiv.

Kontakt aufnehmen

Am Dobben 18

28203 Bremen

Email:

office@peter-harms.com

Telefon:

+49 421 33772-0

BREMEN (Hauptniederlassung)

Peter Harms Schiffahrts- u. Speditionsgesellschaft mbH
Am Dobben 18
28203 Bremen
Tel.: +49 421 33772-0
Fax: +49 421 33772-22
office@peter-harms.com

HAMBURG 

Peter Harms Schiffahrts- u. Speditionsgesellschaft mbH
Kühnehöfe 20
22761 Hamburg
Tel.: +49 40 6077635-0
Fax: +49 40 6077635-59
office@peter-harms.com